Unity For Service

Young & Energetic

Serving Alabama

Child Abuse Prevention

Community Service

Youth Programs


99th Annual ADEC Convention Goes Virtual on ZOOM!!!

June 27, 2020 was certainly an historic date for Alabama District Exchange Clubs (ADEC)!  Because of the COVID-19 pandemic our convention (scheduled to occur on the campus of the University of Alabama in Tuscaloosa) had to be conducted virtually for safety and health reasons. The convention was held on the ZOOM platform from 9:30-11:20 a.m. This was the first ZOOM conference for many of our members! The virtual convention included everything we do at our in-person conventions, including Youth-of-the-Year program, Youth Oratorical Contests via video, video presentation by our 2020 ADEC A.C.E. Winner, ADEC business meeting, nomination and election of new officers, installation of new officers and division directors by NEC Region 3 VP Dawn Portner, an address by 2019-2020 ADEC President Lisa DeShazo, 2020-2021 President's Challenge by Maureen Murphy, and a Memorial Service conducted by Wiley Cutts. It was fun to get together and share our love for ADEC!  The conference also inlcuded a brief video with music entitled "ADEC-We Are Family," highlighting  the 2019-2020 ADEC year. Much of the conference proceedings will be covered at this site. The entire convention was recorded on ZOOM.  Watch the 99th Annual ADEC Convention here (click on note button in bottom right to turn on sound):

Walt Maddox, Mayor of Tuscaloosa receives the 2020 Court of Honor Award from ADEC President Lisa DeShazo. See video here:


President: Maureen Murphy

  President-Elect: Open

Secretary: Linda Schoen

Treasurer:John Schoen

Immediate Past-President:

  Lisa DeShazo

ADEC Volunteer Field Rep.:

Tommy Holliman

Amber Shirley, 2019-2020 President of the Collegiate Exchange Club of Huntingdon College and winner of the Distinguished Club President Award at the 2019 NEC Convention in Norfolk, VA, is headed to medical school after her graduation in May 2020. Amber will be attending DeBusk University School of Osteopathic Medicine, starting in summer 2020. Congratulations to Amber, our future physician!

Dr. Glen Smith of the Exchange Club of Tuscaloosa receives the 2020 Exchange Club Member of the Year for the state of Alabama. 

Read Dr. Smith's impressive biography below.

© 2023 by The Voice Project. Proudly created with

  • Facebook App Icon
  • Twitter App Icon
  • YouTube App Icon